You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Competition Records

Since our foundations in 1908, the Club has won a multitude of trophies and silverware in competitions such as the NRL Premiership, World Club Challenge, Minor Premiership, as well as mid-week competitions and pre-season titles. 



Since 1908 the Sydney Roosters have been a dominant force on the Rugby League landscape, winning fifteen Premierships in total - the most recent being 2018/2019, being the only Club in the era NRL to take out back-to-back titles.

Winning their first Premiership in 1911, Easts would go on to take out the next two titles, becoming the first side to win three Premierships in a row.

The Club would add to their tally in 1923, while another three-peat would be claimed from 1935-1937. The famous Tricolours would also claim two more Premierships in the next eight years in 1940 and 1945.


Premiership Details

The famous Arthur Beetson-led 1970s sides claimed back-to-back titles in 1974 and 1975, breaking a 29-year drought, while another drought would be broken as Brad Fittler's men in Red, White and Blue claimed the pennant in 2002.

Current Head Coach Trent Robinson would make an immediate impression on the Club in 2013, winning the Premiership in his first season, with the side led by captain Anthony Minichiello. 

The Club have been runners-up on fifteen occasions, with the Roosters featuring in eight Grand Finals in the 21st Century - the equal most of any current club in the competition. 

2019 Grand Final Match Highlights



The Roosters proudly hold the most World Club Challenge titles, competing in and taking out the inaugural event in 1976 against St Helens at the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

Twenty-seven years since appearing in their last fixture and coming off a drought-breaking 12th Premiership, the Tricolours travelled to England to take on their former adversaries from the northern hemisphere in a 38-nil thrashing.


World Club Challenge Championships

After taking out the NRL Premiership in 2013 under rookie head coach Trent Robinson, the Roosters were primed to prove they were the real deal against another English powerhouse in red and white - this time beating the Wigan Warriors.

Back-to-back Premierships in 2018 and 2019 also garnered consecutive World Club Challenge victories in 2019 and 2020, defeating Wigan 20-8 and St Helens 20-12 respectively. 

2002 Grand Final Highlights


The Minor Premiership - awarded to the Club that finishes the regular season in first place - has been claimed a record 20 times by the Sydney Roosters - more than any other Club. 

With the first-past-the-post system in place, the Club's first two Minor Premierships in 1912 and 1913 are also classified as Premierships, first claiming the double in 1923.

The Tricolours' dominance in the 1930s saw Minor Premierships won in 1931, 1934, 1935, 1936 and 1937, while a treble of finishes at the top of the table came the following decade in 1940, 1941 and 1945.


Minor Premierships

Minor Premiership and Premiership doubles were achieved in 1975 and 1975, while the Roosters also claimed the prize in 1980 and 1981, before a long wait until the next instance in 2004 which also resulted in a Grand Final finish. 

With the most recent coming in 2018 on the way to the Club's 14th Premiership, the Roosters also claimed three Minor Premierships in a row in 2013, 2014 and 2015. 


Introduced in 1930 as the Fred Flowers Memorial Pennant, the Club Championship was awarded to the Club with the highest aggregate wins across all three grades. 

The first decade of its existence saw Easts dominate, holding the pennant in 1930, 1931, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937 as well as in 1945. 

A long drought saw the pennant return home in 1970, 1974 and 1975, before back-to-back Club Championships in 2013 and 2014.

2019 World Club Challenge Match Highlights



The City Cup was introduced in 1912 as a post-season knock-out competition between the teams competing in the NSWRFL Premiership until 1925, before revivals in 1937, 1942 and 1959. 


City Cup Championships

Eastern Suburbs held the City Cup between 1914 and 1916, defeating arch-rivals South Sydney in a tense 6-5 final before overcoming Glebe in the latter two matches to become the only Club to claim the title on three consecutive occasions.


Mid-week competitions have been held since the mid-1970s, with the Club claiming the inaugural AMCO Cup in 1974, defeating Parramatta 17-7 at Leichhardt Oval.


Mid-Week Cup Championships

The Roosters backed up their effort a few years later to win a second title in 1978, this time against defending Premiers St George 16-4.


2016 Auckland Nines Grand Final Highlights

Pre-season competitions have varied in structure over the years, with the Club claiming six in total, four under the standard 13-a-side format, one in the 7-a-side format and the most recent in the 9-a-side competition.

The Club claimed the first four pre-season titles in an eight-year period, with the first being the Wills Cup in 1974 en route to the Premiership.


Pre-Season Titles

Easts won the 1977 Wills Cup in a canter over South Sydney, winning 43-nil in the final, before taking home the newly-named Craven Mild Cup in 1979 and 1981. 

The 7-a-side format was introduced in 1988, with the Club earning a rare trophy in the 1993 World Sevens, before an emphatic victory in the 2017 Auckland Nines led by the Club's highest-capped player Mitchell Aubusson. 


Since the game's inception, the reserve grade (also referred to as second grade) competition has been a key part of the Club's development of first-grade players. 

Eastern Suburbs had immediate success in reserve grade, claiming the first four consecutive titles in 1908, 1909, 1910 and 1911.


Reserve Grade Premiership Details

The sides of the 1930s looked to emulate the success of the firsts with Premierships in 1935 and 1936 before claiming a seventh title in 1949.

A 37-year drought was broken in 1986 with a 10-2 win over powerhouse club Parramatta, also claiming the title in 2004. 

Since 2006, the Club has had affiliations with the Newtown Jets (2006-2012), Wyong Roos (2013-2018) and North Sydney Bears (2019-present) as reserve-grade representations. 


Eastern Suburbs has had success in third grade as well, in its many iterations, with 15 total Premierships since 1908 until the present day.

The Thirds emulated early success with titles in 1914 and 1917 while taking home five Premierships in nine years in 1924, 1919, 1930, 1931 and 1932, with further trophies in 1941 and 1947.

Holden Cup 2016 Grand Final Highlights

The 1970s brought success to the side as well in 1970 and 1976, with another title in 1993.

The new millennium has since brought three Premierships in third grade, with the thrilling one-point win in 2002, another in 2004 and a thrilling comeback in the 2016 National Youth Competition being the most recent. 


Third Grade Premiership Details



Introduced in 2007 to celebrate the centenary and foundation of Rugby League in Australia, the Foundation Cup was a pre-season match annually contested between the Sydney Roosters and Wests Tigers.

The Foundation Cup was held between 2007 and 2013, with the Roosters claiming victory on five of the six occasions, with an aggregate score of 152-113.


Foundation Cup Title Details