You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sydney Roosters Captain Boyd Cordner has tonight been named winner of the prestigious Jack Gibson Medal at the Sydney Roosters 2017 Awards Night.

This is the second time Cordner has claimed the Club’s most prized award, with the 25-year-old previously receiving the Medal in 2015.

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team and Coach, with votes tallied across the season.

John Gibson, son of the late Jack Gibson, presented Cordner with the Medal.

Sydney Roosters Vice-Captain Jared Waerea-Hargreaves won the James Mathews Award for Clubman of the Year, recognising his extensive contribution both on and off the field throughout the year.

This is the second time Waerea-Hargreaves has been named Clubman of the Year, with the Roosters enforcer first claiming the award in 2012.

Latrell Mitchell was the recipient of the Roosters Our Community Award for his efforts throughout the community and work as an ambassador for the St Vincent’s Heart Health Program.

Mitchell is also the Roosters finalist for the NRL’s Ken Stephen Medal.

Meanwhile, Roosters halfback Mitchell Pearce was named Members Player of the Year and for the second successive year, Latrell Mitchell took home the Steggles Try of the Year Award for his memorable four-pointer in the Roosters win against the Brisbane Broncos in week one of the Finals Series.

Victor Radley capped off a memorable rookie year, winning the Arthur Beetson Medal for NYC Player of the Year and the Harry Phipps Rising Star Award.

Jake Hazard won the Chris Sykes Award for Junior Rep Player of the Year and Reuben Porter was named the NYC Players Player.

The award winners on the night were:

Steggles Try of the Year – Latrell Mitchell

Members Player of the Year – Mitchell Pearce

Roosters Our Community Award – Latrell Mitchell

Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award – Steve Driscoll

Harry Phipps Rising Star Award – Victor Radley

Chris Sykes Award (Junior Rep Player of the Year) – Jake Hazard                                 

NYC Players Player – Reuben Porter

Arthur Beetson Medal (NYC Player of the Year) – Victor Radley

James Mathews Clubman of the Year – Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Jack Gibson Medal Winner – Boyd Cordner

The night was attended by more than 350 guests and was staged in the Bondi Room of Easts Leagues Club.

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Platinum Partners

Premier Partners

View All Partners