You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Roosters Under 20s co-captain Nat Butcher has been named the NYC Player of the Year, as voted by his NYC peers.

Butcher was presented with the award at the 2016 RLPA Awards which were held in Sydney on Tuesday night.

Butcher has had a stellar season to date and made his NRL debut in Round 26.

He was named in the Holden Cup Team of the Year and was the recipient of the Arthur Beetson Medal, presented to the Roosters Under 20s Player of the Year.

Butcher has been named in the Roosters Under 20s side to play the Cronulla Sharks in an Elimination Final at Canberra's GIO Stadium this Saturday, September 17.


The Players’ Champion - Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Rookie of the Year - Cody Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Dennis Tutty Award - Dene Halatau (Wests Tigers)

Australian Representative Player - Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

New Zealand Representative Player - Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)

Rest of the World Representative Player - James Graham (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Australian Representative Women’s Player of the Year - Samantha Bremner (Australian Jillaroos)

New Zealand Representative Women’s Player of the Year - Georgie Hale (New Zealand Kiwi Ferns)

NYC Player of the Year - Nat Butcher (Sydney Roosters)

Origin Greats - Matt Sing, Gary Belcher and Benny Elias

Academic Indigenous Player of the Year - Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)

Academic Pacifica Player of the Year - Sam Tagataese (Cronulla Sharks) and Ben Henry (New Zealand Warriors)

NRL and NYC Academic Team of the Year - Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bulldogs) and Jacob Liddle (Wests Tigers NYC)


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.