You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tedesco Named RLPA Players' Champion

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco has been named as the 2019 RLPA Players' Champion to conclude a stellar season.

Tedesco eyes golden boot after winning Players’ Champion crown

Hosted annually, the awards honour the game's best players on and off the field, including naming and celebrating the NRL Academic Team of the Year, and the NRL's Indigenous and Pasifika Academic Award winners.

Three Roosters were named in the Player's 13 Dream Team, including Latrell Mitchell and Daniel Tupou. 

Vanessa Foliaki was named as the Female Academic Player of the Year, while Brett Morris was named in the Academic Team Of The Year.

The Roosters would like to congratulate all our winners.

The 2019 RLPA & NRL Awards full list of winners are:

NRL Players' Champion: James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)

NRLW Players' Champion: Jessica Sergis (St George Illawarra Dragons)

The Dennis Tutty Award: David Gower (Parramatta Eels)

Rookie of the Year: Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)

The Players' 13 Dream Team

  1. James Tedesco
  2. Maika Sivo
  3. Latrell Mitchell
  4. Will Hopoate
  5. Daniel Tupou
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans
  8. Payne Haas
  9. Cameron Smith
  10. Josh Papalii
  11. John Bateman
  12. Kenny Bromwich
  13. Jake Trbojevic

Male Academic Player of the Year: Russell Packer (Wests Tigers)

Female Academic Player of the Year: Vanessa Foliaki (Sydney Roosters)

Indigenous Academic Excellence Award: Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm)

Pasifika Academic Excellence Awards: Jayson Bukuya (Cronulla Sharks)

Academic Team of the Year:

Vanessa Foliaki (Currently completing a Bachelor of Psychology, Massey University)

Matthew Lodge (Completed a Diploma of Business and currently completing a Bachelor of Business, Swinburne University)

James Tamou (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry and Cert III & IV in fitness and completed small Business, EABS)

Will Hopoate (Completed a Diploma of Community Services and Cert IV in Community, Granville TAFE)

Brett Morris (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry and Completed cert iv in small business, Gymea TAFE)

Daniel Alvaro (Currently completing a Cert III in Carpentry, Meadowbank TAFE)

Toafofoa Sipley (Completed a Bachelor of Education in High School teaching, University of Auckland)

Jamie Buhrer (Currently completing a Bachelor in Sports Business Management, ACPE)

Coen Hess (Currently doing Master of Business Administration and completed a Diploma of Hospitality and Diploma of Business Management, CQU)

Chanel Harris-Tavita (Currently completing a Bachelor of Business, Auckland University of Technology)

Keegan Hipgrave (Currently completing a Bachelor of Business, QUT)

Russell Packer (Currently completing a Masters Business Administration, UNSW)

Robbie Rochow (Currently completing a Bachelor of Engineering, UNSW)

The NRL Players' Champion Honour Roll:

2019 James Tedesco

2018 Kalyn Ponga

2017 James Tedesco

2016 Jason Taumalolo

2015 Johnathan Thurston

2014 Johnathan Thurston

2013 Johnathan Thurston

2012 Ben Barba

2011 Akuila Uate

2010 Darius Boyd

2009 Jarryd Hayne

2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva

2007 Matt Bowen

2006 Ben Kennedy

2005 Johnathan Thurston

2004 Danny Buderus