You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Roosters will be keen to break their head-to-head duck when they meet two-time defending premiers Brisbane in a grand final preview at ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

The Lady Tricolours have had their most successful NRLW season this year but one very large mountain looms - their 0-3 record against the competition heavyweights, including a crushing loss in the inaugural grand final in 2018.

Brisbane triumphed 14-4 in their first-ever clash, 34-12 in the 2018 decider and 20-0 when the Roosters went winless last season and finished at the bottom of the table.

The Broncos have lost just once since the NRLW debuted, to the Warriors in the final round of the 2019 regular season, and are well on course for a three-peat after 14-point victories over the Warriors and Dragons this season.

The rundown

Team news

Roosters: Zehara Tamara will start at fullback after Charlotte Caslick was ruled out for the rest of the season due to a back injury. With a grand final spot locked up, coach Jamie Feeney is resting several stars and experimenting with positions. Melanie Howard has been given a chance in the halves and Amelia Mafi has come in at prop.

Yasmin Meakes is in the centres, Grace Hamilton and Vanessa Foliaki move into the starting pack and Amelia Mafi shifts to the bench. Simaima Taufa and Grace Hamilton dropped off the extended bench on game day after Caslick and Hannah Southwell were omitted 24 hours before kick-off.

Brydie Parker has gone from wing to centre and Taleena Simon has come in on the wing. Kennedy Cherrington will start at lock and Kaitlyn Phillips has joined the interchange.

Broncos: Tyer Birch replaces Jayme Fressard at centre, Shannon Mato starts at prop and Chelsea Lenarduzzi shifts to the bench. Ali Brigginshaw will play lock once more in the No.7 jersey. Zara Canfield and Fressard were omitted from the squad an hour before kick-off after Nakita Sao dropped off the bench on Friday.

Shenae Ciesiolka has moved into the starting side on the wing with Lauren Brown shifting to hooker for the injured Lavinia Gould. Jessica Elliston is set to start in the back row with Amber Hall suspended for her dangerous tackle on Isabelle Kelly last week. Chante Temara and Romy Teitzel are the new faces on the bench. 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Roosters is number 18 Zahara Temara
    Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Tamika Upton
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Shanice Parker
    Winger for Broncos is number 2 Shenae Ciesiolka
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Brydie Parker
    Centre for Broncos is number 3 Julia Robinson
  • Centre for Roosters is number 11 Yasmin Clydsdale
    Centre for Broncos is number 18 Tyler Birch
  • Winger for Roosters is number 5 Taleena Simon
    Winger for Broncos is number 5 Meg Ward
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Corban Baxter
    Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Raecene McGregor
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Melanie Howard
    Halfback for Broncos is number 13 Tarryn Aiken


  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Filomina Hanisi
    Prop for Broncos is number 8 Millie Boyle
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Nita Maynard
    Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Lauren Brown
  • Prop for Roosters is number 21 Grace Hamilton
    Prop for Broncos is number 16 Shannon Mato
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Sarah Togatuki
    2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Tallisha Harden
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 16 Vanessa Foliaki
    2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Jessika Elliston
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Kennedy Cherrington
    Lock for Broncos is number 7 Ali Brigginshaw


  • Interchange for Roosters is number 8 Amelia Mafi
    Interchange for Broncos is number 10 Chelsea Lenarduzzi
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Quincy Dodd
    Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Annette Brander
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Kaitlyn Phillips
    Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Romy Teitzel
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Jocelyn Kelleher
    Interchange for Broncos is number 17 Chanté Temara

Match Officials

  • Referee: Liam Kennedy
  • Touch Judge: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski
  • Touch Judge: Drew Oultram

Last updated:

Key match-up

Zahara Temara v Ali Brigginshaw: The Roosters half, the competition's top scorer through two rounds (16 points), tallied a try and three goals against the Warriors last time out. She also impressed with her playmaking. Her Broncos rival may be yet to win the women's Dally M but Jillaroos captain Brigginshaw is one of the most influential players  in the competition. 

Stat Attack

The Broncos are the competition's most formidable attacking unit. Brisbane rank first for points (46), tries (8), goals (7), tackle breaks (65) and try assists (4); tied for first in line breaks (14); and second for offloads (18) and line-break assists (5).  

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.