You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Two Roosters Named RLPA Players' Champion Finalists

The Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) has today announced a star-studded list of finalists for The Players’ Champion (NRL) 2020.

NRL players from across the competition have voted Nathan Cleary, Luke Keary, Josh Papalii, James Tedesco and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck as the best five players for the 2020 season.

The winner of the prestigious award will be announced live on Nine’s coverage of the Grand Final on Sunday, October 25.

Amongst the five finalists are two Roosters’ superstars – Tedesco and Keary – who were both dominant throughout the Roosters 2020 campaign.

Tedesco will be looking to add a third Players’ Champion trophy to his cabinet, having already won the award in 2017 and 2019.

RLPA Chief Executive Officer, Clint Newton, congratulated this year’s finalists for the NRL award.

“To be recognised among the best five players in the competition by your peers is a significant achievement,” Newton said.

“We would like to congratulate Nathan, Luke, Josh, James and Roger on their outstanding performances this year.

“They have each played a key role in providing first-class entertainment for the wider community, despite encountering the most challenging of circumstances and conditions this season.

“All five finalists would be worthy winners of this year’s award and we look forward to the announcement being made live on Nine’s Grand Final broadcast.”

Finalists for The Players’ Champion – NRLW will be announced next Thursday following the conclusion of the regular season this weekend.