You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
24 HOUR UPDATE: Line Up for Round 22 vs Broncos Announced

The Roosters' side to take on the Brisbane Broncos at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night has been trimmed 24 hours prior to kick-off.

Ben Marschke and Tuku Hau Tapuha have been omitted from the side, which remains as named 1-17. Brad Abbey and Ben Thomas remain on the extended bench. 

The final line up will be available one hour prior to kick-off at 7:05pm. 

Originally Published on 10th August 2021

The Sydney Roosters are proud to announce the Round 22 line up to take on the Brisbane Broncos at 8:05pm on Friday night at Suncorp Stadium. 

The National Rugby League will celebrate Women in League Round for the 15th season, which shines a spotlight on the women who are instrumental in bringing the game to fans and grassroots players across Australia and to help grow interest in the game amongst female fans and players.

Corban Baxter (née McGregor) will be celebrated by the Sydney Roosters for both her on-field and off-field contributions to the Club. Captain of the Sydney Roosters’ NRLW team, Corban has shown her qualities as a leader with her club-first mentality. You can find out more about Corban here. 

With stay at home orders in Queensland lifted, Roosters Members and supporters will not only be able to attend the match but also be treated to a double-header as the Penrith Panthers take on the St George Illawarra Dragons in the pre-game clash at 6pm.

Tickets can be purchased here, but be quick as Suncorp Stadium will have 50% capacity on Friday night.

Date: Friday August 13
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Gates Open: 5:00pm
Penrith Panthers vs St George Illawarra Dragons kick-off: 6:00pm
Sydney Roosters vs Brisbane Broncos kick-off:  8:05pm

A handful of changes have been made to Trent Robinson's side ahead of the match this week. 

Dale Copley will make his on-field return to the Roosters on the wing alongside Daniel Tupou, while James Tedesco reprises his role as fullback and captain with Joseph Manu and Adam Keighran once again lining up in the centres. 

Halves pairing Drew Hutchison and Sam Walker will combine for the eleventh time this season, while the front row will feature Isaac Liu, Sam Verrills and Siosiua Taukeiaho.

Nat Butcher comes into the second row in place of Angus Crichton, joined by Sitili Tupouniua and Victor Radley to round off the starting side.

On the interchange bench Lachlan Lam, Egan Butcher and Fletcher Baker are joined by Naufahu Whyte, who is set to make his first-grade debut and become Sydney Rooster #1205 and the eighth NRL debutant for the Club in season 2021. 

Meanwhile, Ben Marschke, Tuku Hau Tapuha, Brad Abbey and Ben Thomas have all been named on the extended bench.

The Roosters and Broncos will play for the 55th time on Friday night, with the Red, White and Blue playing their third match at Suncorp Stadium this season.

Although Brisbane hold a better overall record with Easts winning 22 matches (42%), the Tricolours have won three of the last five encounters, with the ledger evening out as both sides have shared the spoils in the previous ten matches with five wins apiece. 

Round 22 Media - Egan Butcher

Both sides will be eager to bounce back from close losses in Round 21, and with a bumper crowd set for Suncorp Stadium, you can expect this match to be nothing short of a thriller. 

As the exciting Sydney Football Stadium developments continue, there's no better time to become a True Rooster as we look to hit the 20,000 Member mark after creating history and breaking our Membership record this year! 

Priority seating is now available for all 2021 Members, so be sure to commit to the Club as we lay our foundations for the future and cheer on the Red, White and Blue! 

With packages to suit everyone in any situation, and with 2021 NRLW Membership available, now is the time to be a True Rooster!


The squads to play this Friday are as follows: 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Tesi Niu
    Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco
  • Winger for Broncos is number 2 Corey Oates
    Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou
  • Centre for Broncos is number 3 Selwyn Cobbo
    Centre for Roosters is number 3 Adam Keighran
  • Centre for Broncos is number 21 David Mead
    Centre for Roosters is number 4 Joseph Manu
  • Winger for Broncos is number 5 Xavier Coates
    Winger for Roosters is number 5 Dale Copley
  • Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Tyson Gamble
    Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Drew Hutchison
  • Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Albert Kelly
    Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Sam Walker


  • Prop for Broncos is number 8 Thomas Flegler
    Prop for Roosters is number 8 Isaac Liu
  • Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Danny Levi
    Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills
  • Prop for Broncos is number 10 Payne Haas
    Prop for Roosters is number 10 Siosiua Taukeiaho
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Alex Glenn
    2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Nat Butcher
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Jordan Riki
    2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Sitili Tupouniua
  • Lock for Broncos is number 13 Kobe Hetherington
    Lock for Roosters is number 13 Victor Radley


  • Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Xavier Willison
    Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Lachlan Lam
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Rhys Kennedy
    Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Egan Butcher
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 17 TC Robati
    Interchange for Roosters is number 16 Fletcher Baker
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 19 Anthony Milford
    Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Naufahu Whyte


  • Reserve for Broncos is number 18 Cory Paix
    Reserve for Roosters is number 20 Brad Abbey

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Phil Henderson
  • Touch Judge: Darian Furner
  • Senior Review Official: Henry Perenara

Last updated: