You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
24 HOUR UPDATE: Line Up for Round 24 vs Rabbitohs Announced

The Roosters' side to take on the South Sydney Rabbitohs at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night has been trimmed 24 hours prior to kick-off.

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has been omitted from the side with a minor knee complaint and is expected to be available for selection in Round 25. 

Fletcher Baker comes into the starting side, while Tuku Hau Tapuha comes onto the interchange bench.

Moala Graham-Taufa and Daniel Suluka-Fifita remain on the extended bench. 

The final line up will be available one hour prior to kick-off at 6:55pm. 

Originally Published on 24th August 2021

The Sydney Roosters are proud to announce the Round 24 line up to take on arch-rivals the South Sydney Rabbitohs on Friday night at Suncorp Stadium.

Roosters forward Isaac Liu will become just the eleventh player in Club history dating back to 1908 to play 200 first-grade games. Liu debuted in 2013 and was an integral part of the 2018 and 2019 Premiership-winning sides, and has also represented Samoa and New Zealand at Test level. 

Date: Friday August 27
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Gates Open: 6:45pm
Sydney Roosters vs South Sydney Rabbitohs kick-off: 7:55pm

The line up Trent Robinson has named features a number of changes to the side that defeated the St George Illawarra Dragons on Sunday afternoon. The Roosters have named one less player in the extended squad due to player unavailability.

James Tedesco leads the side as fullback and captain, with Daniel Tupou and Joseph Manu joined by new additions to the backline in Lachlan Lam and Brad Abbey - who will make his Club debut on the wing. 

Drew Hutchison and Sam Walker - both try scorers in Sunday's win - will pair up in the halves, while Jared Waerea-Hargreaves heads the forward pack alongside Sam Verrills and Siosiua Taukeiaho in the front row.

The side is rounded off by Sitili Tupouniua and Egan Butcher earning his first starting role in the second row, while milestone man Isaac Liu locks up the scrum.

The interchange bench features Ben Marschke, Naufahu Whyte, Fletcher Baker and Ben Thomas, while Moala Graham-Taufa, Tuku Hau Tapuha and Daniel Suluka-Fifita have been named on the extended bench.

Easts and Souths meet for the 248th time since the code's inaugural season in Australia - and history will beckon on Friday night as it will be the first top-level contest between the two foundation clubs outside of Sydney. 

Friday night will mark the 30th Ron Coote Cup match, which has been contested in every regular-season match since 2007, with the clubs both tied on seven wins each. The Roosters will be able to claim the Cup with a victory of eleven points or more following the last meeting in Round 3. 

The results of the last ten matches have also been equally balanced, with both sides claiming victory on five occasions each, while the Roosters have a superior record against the Rabbitohs since 2002, winning 26 out of 42 matches. 

As the exciting Sydney Football Stadium developments continue, there's no better time to become a True Rooster as we look to hit the 20,000 Member mark after creating history and breaking our Membership record this year! 

Priority seating is now available for all 2021 Members, so be sure to commit to the Club as we lay our foundations for the future and cheer on the mighty Roosters!

With packages to suit everyone in any situation, and with 2021 NRLW Membership available, now is the time to be a True Rooster!


The squads to play this Friday are as follows: 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco
    Fullback for Rabbitohs is number 1 Latrell Mitchell
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou
    Winger for Rabbitohs is number 2 Alex Johnston
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Lachlan Lam
    Centre for Rabbitohs is number 3 Dane Gagai
  • Centre for Roosters is number 4 Joseph Manu
    Centre for Rabbitohs is number 4 Campbell Graham
  • Winger for Roosters is number 5 Brad Abbey
    Winger for Rabbitohs is number 5 Jaxson Paulo
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Drew Hutchison
    Five-Eighth for Rabbitohs is number 6 Cody Walker
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Sam Walker
    Halfback for Rabbitohs is number 7 Adam Reynolds


  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Siosiua Taukeiaho
    Prop for Rabbitohs is number 8 Mark Nicholls
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills
    Hooker for Rabbitohs is number 9 Damien Cook
  • Prop for Roosters is number 16 Fletcher Baker
    Prop for Rabbitohs is number 16 Tevita Tatola
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Egan Butcher
    2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 11 Jaydn Su'a
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Sitili Tupouniua
    2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 12 Jai Arrow
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Isaac Liu
    Lock for Rabbitohs is number 13 Cameron Murray


  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Ben Marschke
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 10 Thomas Burgess
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Naufahu Whyte
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 14 Benji Marshall
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Ben Thomas
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 15 Jacob Host
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 19 Tuku Hau Tapuha
    Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 18 Liam Knight


  • Reserve for Roosters is number 18 Moala Graham-Taufa
    Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 19 Blake Taaffe

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Todd Smith
  • Touch Judge: Jon Stone
  • Senior Review Official: Henry Perenara

Last updated:

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.