You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL and NRLW Draws Announced

The 2022 NRL and 2021 NRLW Draws have been officially announced, with plenty of highlights for Sydney Roosters Members and supporters to look forward to.

The Sydney Roosters NRL side will kick-off proceedings for season 2022 in a 3pm family-friendly blockbuster against the Newcastle Knights at the Sydney Cricket Ground in a double-header alongside the NRLW side. 

The Sydney Roosters NRLW side will begin their five-round season in the second match of a triple-header at McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle against fierce rivals the Brisbane Broncos in late February. 

Here is everything you need to know about the 2022 NRL and 2021 NRLW draws.

NRL 2022 Draw Highlights

There are plenty of highlights from the 2022 NRL Draw for Roosters Members and supporters alike, including: 

  • Nine Sydney Home Games* including our opening match against Newcastle Knights, which will be a double-header alongside the NRLW side. 
  • The continuing affiliation at Central Coast Stadium in Round 2 with a Friday night blockbuster against Manly Warringah Sea Eagles.
  • Back-to-back SCG Blockbusters in Round 6 vs New Zealand Warriors (home), before Anzac Day Cup (away).
  • The Roosters' return to BB Print Stadium in Mackay to host the Gold Coast Titans in Round 9.
  • Queensland-based Members and supporters able to attend four matches in the Sunshine State, with two back-to-back trips in Rounds 4 and 5 and Rounds 9 and 10.
  • Four Sydney Home Games in the final five rounds, including the Club's first game at the brand-new Sydney Football Stadium in the Round 25 clash against the South Sydney Rabbitohs*.

*subject to availability

See the 2022 NRL Draw in Full Here

The Opposition:

The Sydney Roosters will play 24 matches across 25 Rounds, taking on nine opponents including fierce rivals South Sydney Rabbitohs, St George Illawarra Dragons, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles and Melbourne Storm twice, with six opponents once. 

  • Playing Twice: Newcastle Knights (Rd 1 and 24), Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Rd 2 and 20), South Sydney Rabbitohs (Rd 3 and 25), North Queensland Cowboys (Rd 4 and 22) Brisbane Broncos (Rd 5 and 21), St George Illawarra Dragons (Rd 7 and 18), Parramatta Eels (Rd 10 and 15), Penrith Panthers (Rd 11 and Rd 16) and Melbourne Storm (Rd 14 and Rd 24).
  • Playing Once: New Zealand Warriors (Rd 6), Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Rd 8), Gold Coast Titans (Rd 9), Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Rd 12), Canberra Raiders (Rd 13) and Wests Tigers (Rd 23).

The Schedule:

The Sydney Roosters' 2022 NRL Draw features a number of family-friendly Saturday and Sunday afternoon matches alongside Friday and Saturday night blockbusters, including: 

  • Two Thursday Night Matches, which will be payed in Round 20 (vs Sea Eagles at Brookvale Oval) and Round 21 (vs Broncos at Sydney Cricket Ground*).
  • Seven Friday Night Blockbusters, including three in the first five rounds, none of which will be played at 6pm. 
  • Twelve Matches on Saturdays, with three family-friendly afternoon matches at the Sydney Cricket Ground, three at 5:30pm and three at 7:35pm.
  • Three Sunday Afternoon Matches: Round 6 vs Warriors at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Round 10 vs Parramatta Eels at Suncorp Stadium for Magic Round and Round 13 vs Canberra Raiders at GIO Stadium in Round 13.
  • Only one period of three consecutive away matches from Rounds 3 to 5, with two periods of three consecutive home games from Rounds 9 to 11 and Rounds 21 to 23.
  • The Roosters will have the Bye in Round 17 prior to State of Origin III.

*subject to availability

Call Yourself A Rooster and Become A 2022 Sydney Roosters Member

NRLW 2021 Draw Highlights

The NRLW will expand to six teams and five rounds with the inclusion of the Gold Coast Titans, Newcastle Knights and Parramatta Eels into the competition.

In an exciting kick-off to the season, the rescheduled 2021 season will begin with a triple-header on Sunday, February 27, with the 2022 season to be played later in the year. 

The regular season will be played from February until late March, with a two-week finals series that will see the top four sides battle it out for the NRLW Premiership. 

The NRLW Draw highlights include:

  • Triple-Headers to open the first two rounds, including the opening game against fierce rivals Brisbane Broncos at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle before taking on newcomers Gold Coast Titans at WIN Stadium in Wollongong.
  • A Double-Header with NRL side at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Round 3 against the Newcastle Knights. 
  • A Double-Header at McDonald Jones Stadium in Round 5 against the Parramatta Eels. 
  • A Final Round Blockbuster against fellow NRLW foundation club St George Illawarra Dragons at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium. 
  • No Clashes with the NRL side, meaning Sydney Roosters Members and supporters will be able to attend and cheer on both the NRLW and NRL sides.