You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Roosters Unveil New and Returning Additions to 2022 NRLW Squad

The Sydney Roosters have today announced the additions of Destiny Brill, Shaniah Power and Jayme Fressard to the Club’s 2022 NRLW squad.

Destiny Brill, who has been named in Queensland’s starting side for tomorrow night’s Women’s State of Origin, joins the Roosters from the Gold Coast Titans.

Roosters Signing: Brill's Unstoppable Effort Against the Eels

With the ability to play at hooker or lock, the 19-year-old was named QRLW’s Rookie of the Year in 2021 and made her Origin debut at just 18, scoring the only try in the gripping 2021 Women’s State of Origin fixture.

25-year-old Shaniah Power also joins the Roosters from the Titans. The tough and skilful second-rower was named recipient of the 2021 Dally M Try of the Year for her brilliant solo effort against the Brisbane Broncos.

There’s a really good culture at the Roosters and I thoroughly enjoyed my time last season. I’m a proud Rooster.

Olivia Kernick On re-signing for 2022

Power made her NRLW debut with the New Zealand Warriors in 2020 and made her State of Origin debut with Queensland later that year. She has also represented the Indigenous All Stars on two occasions (2020-2021).

Another new addition to the Roosters’ 2022 NRLW squad is former NRLW Premiership-winner Jayme Fressard.

While injury ruled her out of the 2018 and 2019 NRLW seasons, Fressard played a key role in the Brisbane Broncos’ 2020 NRLW campaign, playing at centre in their Grand Final-winning side. The 24-year-old has also played for the Central Coast Roosters in the NSWRL Women’s Premiership.

Roosters Signing: Shaniah Powers Through for 2021 NRLW Try of the Year

The trio join a number of returning members of the Sydney Roosters’ 2021 Premiership-winning squad, with the Club also announcing that Olivia Kernick, Jocelyn Kelleher, Keilee Joseph, Mya Hill-Moana, Chante Temara, Leianne Tufuga, Joeli Morris, Samantha Economos, Shawden Burton, Otesa Pule and Pani Hopoate have re-signed for season 2022.

They join Isabelle Kelly, Jessica Sergis, Sarah Togatuki, Raecene McGregor and Zahara Temara who have also re-committed to the Roosters.

21-year-old Kernick, a hard-running second-rower who has been named to make her debut in the 2022 Sky Blues NSW team, said: “There’s a really good culture at the Roosters and I thoroughly enjoyed my time last season. I’m a proud Rooster.”

Roosters Signing: Fressard Breaks Through for a Scintillating Try

“While there have been some changes, there are a lot of familiar faces in our squad and some exciting new additions. I’m excited about what’s ahead and can’t wait to get back at it.”

The Roosters will continue to provide updates on its 2022 NRLW roster over the coming weeks, with the squad due to assemble for the start of pre-season in mid-July.


Sydney Roosters 2022 NRLW Squad (as of June 23)

Destiny Brill

Shawden Burton

Samantha Economos

Jayme Fressard

Mya Hill-Moana

Kalisopani Hopoate

Keilee Joseph

Jocelyn Kelleher

Isabelle Kelly

Olivia Kernick

Raecene McGregor

Joeli Morris

Shaniah Power

Otesa Pule

Jessica Sergis 

Chante Temara

Zahara Temara

Sarah Togatuki

Leianne Tufuga

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.