You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Roosters Captain Locked In Until At Least The End Of 2025

The Sydney Roosters are thrilled to announce that captain James Tedesco has extended his tenure with the Club until at least the end of 2025.

“I’m proud to lead this club and I’ve enjoyed my career here at the Roosters so far. We’re a close group and I’m looking forward to continuing to work with the team we have here to add to the Roosters’ rich history,” said Tedesco.

Tedesco is a record-holding five-time winner of the Sydney Roosters Jack Gibson Medal, awarded to the club’s NRL Player of the Year. He is also a former winner of the Dally M Player of the Year (2019), Dally M Fullback of the Year (2016, 2019, 2022), Dally M Captain of the Year (2021) and a three-time winner of the RLPA Players’ Champion award (2017, 2019, 2022).

Tedesco has won five consecutive Jack Gibson awards at the Sydney Roosters.
Tedesco has won five consecutive Jack Gibson awards at the Sydney Roosters.

The Australian and NSW skipper won all three major NSW Blues Origin awards for 2022 – the Brad Fittler Medal, True Blue and Daily Telegraph People’s Choice awards – becoming the first player in NSWRL history to scoop the pool in the same season. He capped off a memorable World Cup campaign last November by being named Player of the Match as he steered the Kangaroos to World Cup victory.

Sydney Roosters Head Coach, Trent Robinson, said: “Teddy is our leader and such a big part of our Club. He has an incredible work ethic and it’s a real honour to coach him.”

Every Try | James Tedesco 2022

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.