You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Arthur Beetson Medal Award

Arthur Beetson Medal Award

The Arthur Beetson Medal for Jersey Flegg Player of the Year is voted by the Jersey Flegg playing squad and Head Coach.

Named after Harry 'Jersey' Flegg - the Club's first-ever captain and one of the first great administrators of the game - the Jersey Flegg Cup has been played since 1961 beginning as an under-19s competition for clubs in New South Wales. 

From 1998-2007 the competition age restriction was raised to under-20s, before expanding to become the National Youth Competition from 2008-2017 and competed between all NRL clubs. 

In 2018 the Jersey Flegg Cup returned as a NSW-based competition, and in 2020 saw the age restriction raised to under-21s. 

Introduced in 2012, the award is appropriately named after Club Legend Arthur Beetson, a dual Premiership-winning Captain, Head Coach and as a talent scout, attracting future Club Legends Anthony Minichiello, Mitchell Aubusson and Jake Friend to Bondi. 

Every single winner of the prestigious award has gone on to make their NRL debut with the Sydney Roosters. 

Year Awarded Player
2012 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2013 Samisoni Langi
2014 Nene MacDonald
2015 Connor Watson
2016 Nat Butcher
2017 Victor Radley
2018 Sam Verrills
2019 Freddy Lussick
2020 No Award Presented.
2021 No Award Presented.