You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Jack Gibson Medal Award

Awarded to the Sydney Roosters' Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal is voted at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team and Head Coach, with votes tallied across the season, and has been awarded since 1995. 

The award is named in honour of Jack Gibson, who played over 100 matches for the Club between 1953-1961 and is regarded as one of the greatest coaches in Rugby League history, guiding the back-to-back Premiership winning sides of 1974-1975.

Year Awarded Player Related media
1995 Jason Lowrie  
1996 Terry Hermansson  
1997 Luke Ricketson  
1998 Brad Fittler  
1999 Bryan Fletcher  
2000 Brad Fittler  
2001 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2002 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2003 Adrian Morley  
2004 Brett Finch  
2005 Ryan Cross  
2006 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2007 Braith Anasta  
2008 Mitchell Pearce  
2009 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2010 Mitchell Pearce  
2011 Jake Friend  
2012 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves  
2013 Sonny Bill Williams  
2014 Mitchell Pearce  
2015 Boyd Cordner  
2016 Jake Friend  
2017 Boyd Cordner  
2018 James Tedesco  
2019 James Tedesco Watch Tedesco's Acceptance Speech
2020 James Tedesco Watch Tedesco's Acceptance Speech
2021 James Tedesco Watch Tedesco's Acceptance Speech
2022 James Tedesco Watch Tedesco's Acceptance Speech
2023 Lindsay Collins Watch Collins' Acceptance Speech


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.