You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Clubman of the Year Award

James Mathews Clubman of the Year Award

The James Mathews Clubman of the Year Award is voted by Sydney Roosters players, coaches and staff to acknowledge extensive contributions both on and off the field throughout the year.

The award is named in honour of the late James Mathews, a promising young centre for the Club who was tragically struck down in a motor vehicle accident in 1992, and has been awarded since 1995. 

Year Awarded Player Related Media
1995 Sean Garlick  
1996 Nathan Wood  
1997 Ivan Cleary  
1998 Simon Bonetti  
1999 David Barnhill  
2000 Luke Ricketson  
2001 Dallas Hood  
2002 Peter Cusack  
2003 Michael Cracker  
2004 Chris Flannery  
2005 Adrian Morley  
2006 Adrian Morley  
2007 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2008 Mark O’Meley  
2009 Craig Fitzgibbon  
2010 Braith Anasta  
2011 Mitchell Aubusson  
2012 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves  
2013 Anthony Minichiello  
2014 Shaun Kenny-Dowall  
2015 Mitchell Aubusson  
2016 Mitchell Aubusson  
2017 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves  
2018 Jake Friend  
2019 Daniel Tupou  
2020 Victor Radley Watch > Victor Accepts Award
2021 Nat Butcher Watch > Nat's Acceptance Speech