You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Ahead of the Kangaroos first Rugby League World Cup clash on Friday night against England, head coach Mal Meninga has named his 21-man side.

Boyd Cordner has been named as the Vice Captain in the starting line-up as expected, while Cameron Smith has been named as Captain. 

No real surprises for the Kangaroos this week, though this week's five eighth will be North Queensland Cowboys halfback Michael Morgan. 

The final 17-man side will be decided ahead of kick off.

Australian team to face England

1 Billy Slater 

2 Dane Gagai 

3 Will Chambers 

4 Josh Dugan 

5 Valentine Holmes 

6 Michael Morgan 

7 Cooper Cronk 

8 Aaron Woods 

9 Cameron Smith (c) 

10 David Klemmer 

11 Boyd Cordner (vc) 

12 Matt Gillett 

13 Jake Trbojevic 


14 Wade Graham 

15 Jordan McLean 

16 Josh McGuire 

17 Tyson Frizell 

18 Reagan Campbell-Gillard 

19 Ben Hunt 

20 Tom Trbojevic 

21 Felise Kaufusi 

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.