You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
A Decade To Celebrate | 2019

As we farewell the decade that was from 2010 to 2019, the Sydney Roosters look back on an extremely memorable ten seasons for the Club.

After tasting Premiership victory in 2018 and largely retaining the roster, the question was consistently asked in 2019, could the Roosters go back-to-back?

Let's take a stroll down memory lane and remember the FINAL YEAR of our ten celebrated seasons of the decade. 

The Roosters crowd Latrell Mitchell after he kicks the game winning field goal against the Melbourne Storm.
The Roosters crowd Latrell Mitchell after he kicks the game winning field goal against the Melbourne Storm.


With the addition of State Of Origin second rower Angus Crichton and veteran wingers Brett Morris and Ryan Hall in 2019, the Roosters arguably improved on what was already a fantastic roster. 

After dropping their first match of the season against the South Sydney Rabbitohs, the Roosters quickly picked up where they left off in 2018, winning the following eight games in a row. 

While their was a back-and-forth patch in the middle of the season, the Tricolours were back to their best at the back end of the season, in particular when they played at their new home ground. 

In order to complete their mission and to defy history by going back-to-back for the first time since the Brisbane Broncos achieved it 21 years prior, they would have to once again reach a new level in the Finals.

After a clinical win in the Qualifying Final against the South Sydney Rabbitohs, it appeared the Roosters were once again prepared to challenge for the 2019 Premiership. 


ROUND 6: Perfect set of six sinks Storm

VB Hard Earned Effort | Round 6

To conclude a stunning 80 minutes of football against the Melbourne Storm in Round 6, the Roosters would pull off a PERFECT set of six to open Golden Point. 

It started with a massive run by Sitili Tupouniua, and finished with a clutch field goal from Latrell Mitchell.

ANZAC DAY: TKO seals Anzac Day

MusclePharm Moment Of The Year Winner

In what was voted the MusclePharm Moment of the year AND the best individual performance of the year in 2019, Siosiua Taukeiaho seals the Anzac Cup with a monstrous effort.

ROUND 20: Morris passes 150 NRL tries in style

Brett Morris Record Setting Hat-trick

He was on the cusp of his 150th NRL try, so he decided to score three!

ROUND 21: Manu makes tackle of the year

Joseph Manu wins 2019 Tackle Of The Year

The Sydney Roosters were hanging on for dear life in Round 21 and looking for a long awaited victory over the Canberra Raiders in Canberra for the first time since 2010. 

In the closing minutes of the game, Joseph Manu pulled off the tackle of the year when he thudded Raiders captain Jarrod Croker into touch just shy of the try line.


THAT Grand Final Try

The moment that changed it all in the NRL Grand Final.


Steggles Try Of The Year 2019

The Steggles Try of the year was once again awarded to Joseph Manu after he cleaned up a superb Tricolours effort.

What a decade it was, and now it's time to start a new one. Thanks for tuning in Roosters fans and we'll see you in 2020

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.