You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
24 HOUR UPDATE: Line Up for Round 20 vs Eels Announced

The Roosters' side to take on the Parramatta Eels at BB Print Stadium on Thursday night has been trimmed 24 hours prior to kick-off.

Ben Marschke and Naufahu Whyte have been omitted from the side, which remains as named 1-17. Fletcher Baker and Moala Graham-Taufa remain on the extended bench. 

The final line up will be available one hour prior to kick-off at 6:50pm. 

Originally Published on 27th July 2021

The Sydney Roosters are proud to announce the Round 20 line up to take on the Parramatta Eels at 7:50pm on Thursday night at BB Print Stadium in Mackay.

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves will become just the fifth Rooster to play 250 games for the Club this Thursday night, sitting only behind Club Legends Mitchell Aubusson (306), Anthony Minichiello (302), Luke Ricketson (301) and Jake Friend (263). 

Since making his debut with the Club in 2010, Waerea-Hargreaves has become a three-time Premiership winner (2013, 2018, 2019), three-time winner of the World Club Challenge (2014, 2019, 2020), has represented New Zealand 32 times and has captained the side on a number of occasions since 2013. 

The match will be the second time the Roosters have played in Mackay, following a trial match in 2017 against the North Queensland Cowboys and will be aiming to win their fourth consecutive game this week when they take on the fourth-placed Parramatta Eels. 

Date: Thursday July 29
Venue: BB Print Stadium, Mackay
Gates Open: 5:30pm
Sydney Roosters vs Parramatta Eels kick-off: 7:50pm

Trent Robinson's side has had two major changes to the backline following the win against the Newcastle Knights. 

Captain James Tedesco once again takes his place after a stirring performance against the Knights at fullback, while Daniel Tupou will be joined alongside the returning Josh Morris who lines up in the centres with Adam Keighran with Joseph Manu reverting to the wing.

The halves pairing of Drew Hutchison and Sam Walker has been retained, while Waerea-Hargreaves leads from the front alongside Sam Verrills and Isaac Liu in the front row. 

Angus Crichton will start in the second row next to Sitili Tupouniua as Victor Radley locks up the scrum to round off the starting side. 

The interchange bench consists of Lachlan Lam, Nat Butcher, Egan Butcher, and the returning Siosiua Taukeiaho, while Ben Marschke, Fletcher Baker, Moala Graham-Taufa and Naufahu Whyte have been listed on the extended bench.

Round 20 Media - Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Thursday night will be the 150th meeting between the two clubs since 1947, with the Tricolours holding a 52% winning record with 78 wins, 66 losses and 5 draws heading into the match. 

It will also be the first time Easts and Parramatta take on one another outside of New South Wales, with the only game outside of Sydney being in Newcastle in 1994. 

The Roosters have been victorious on twelve of the last seventeen occasions, with the last match resulting in a 31-18 defeat in Round 9, but the Red, White and Blue will be determined to rebound with a victory which will see them level on competition points with their opponents.

With the NRLW season set to start with an expanded competition and more talent than ever before, there's no better time to support both Women's Rugby League and the Sydney Roosters than with 2021 NRLW Membership.

With packages for adults, children and the whole family, as well as plenty of benefits for new and existing Members, be sure to sign up for NRLW Membership and become a True Rooster!

You can see our mighty Roosters take on the Eels on Channel Nine and Fox League (channel 502 on Foxtel), or streamed through Kayo.


The squads to play this Thursday are as follows: 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco
    Fullback for Eels is number 1 Clinton Gutherson
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou
    Winger for Eels is number 2 Maika Sivo
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Josh Morris
    Centre for Eels is number 3 Tom Opacic
  • Centre for Roosters is number 4 Adam Keighran
    Centre for Eels is number 4 Waqa Blake
  • Winger for Roosters is number 5 Joseph Manu
    Winger for Eels is number 5 Blake Ferguson
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Drew Hutchison
    Five-Eighth for Eels is number 6 Dylan Brown
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Sam Walker
    Halfback for Eels is number 7 Jake Arthur


  • Prop for Roosters is number 8 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
    Prop for Eels is number 8 Reagan Campbell-Gillard
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills
    Hooker for Eels is number 9 Reed Mahoney
  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Isaac Liu
    Prop for Eels is number 10 Junior Paulo
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Angus Crichton
    2nd Row for Eels is number 11 Isaiah Papali'i
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Sitili Tupouniua
    2nd Row for Eels is number 12 Ryan Matterson
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Victor Radley
    Lock for Eels is number 13 Nathan Brown


  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Lachlan Lam
    Interchange for Eels is number 15 Shaun Lane
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Nat Butcher
    Interchange for Eels is number 16 Oregon Kaufusi
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 16 Egan Butcher
    Interchange for Eels is number 17 Will Smith
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Siosiua Taukeiaho
    Interchange for Eels is number 19 Ray Stone


  • Reserve for Roosters is number 19 Fletcher Baker
    Reserve for Eels is number 18 Haze Dunster

Match Officials

  • Referee: Grant Atkins
  • Touch Judge: Dave Munro
  • Touch Judge: Matt Noyen
  • Senior Review Official: Ashley Klein

Last updated:

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.