You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Update: NRLW Line up for Round 1 vs Broncos

The Roosters' side to take on the Brisbane Broncos at McDonald Jones Stadium on Sunday afternoon has been trimmed 24 hours prior to kick-off.

Corban Baxter and Samantha Economos have been omitted from the side, with Brydie Parker moving to fullback and Taylor-Adeline Mapusua making her NRLW debut on the wing.

Raecene McGregor comes onto the interchange bench to make her Sydney Roosters NRLW debut, while Joeli Morris becomes 18th player. 

Hannah Southwell will captain the side, with returning centre Isabelle Kelly named as co-captain. 

The final line up will be available one hour prior to kick-off at 12:50pm. 


Originally Published on 22nd February 2022

The Sydney Roosters are proud to announce the Round 1 line up to take on the Brisbane Broncos in the first round of the 2021 NRLW season at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle. 

The new season will kick off with a Grand Final rematch between the Roosters and Broncos at 1:50pm, with a number of mouth-watering clashes to be settled across the park, which will see all six NRLW sides take the field on Sunday in a triple-header. 

The Roosters will take the field for the first time in nearly 500 days following the postponement of the season, with a host of representative stars, experienced campaigners and a handful of debutants named to wear the Red, White and Blue.

Date: Sunday February 27
Venue: McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle
Gates Open: 11:30am
St George Illawarra Dragons vs Gold Coast Titans kick-off: 12:00pm
Sydney Roosters vs Brisbane Broncos kick-off: 1:50pm
Newcastle Knights vs Parramatta Eels kick-off: 3:40pm

Head Coach John Strange has named a 24-player squad ahead of Sunday's match, which will be trimmed to 21 players 24 hours prior to the match before the final side of 18 is named one hour prior to kick-off. 

Leianne Tufuga, Olivia Higgins, Olivia Kernick, Tayla Predebon, Shawden Burton, Keilee Joseph and Simone Karpani will all make their long-awaited debuts in the NRLW, with the latter six all part of the Central Coast Roosters side that claimed the 2020 and 2021 Premierships in undefeated seasons. 

Captain Corban Baxter has been named at fullback, with Leianne Tufuga and Brydie Parker named on the wings.

Kelly: "I Can't Wait to See What We Can Do"

Jessica Sergis will make her much-anticipated Roosters debut in the centres alongside the returning Isabelle Kelly, while Zahara Temara and Jocelyn Kelleher partner up in the halves to round off a classy backline.

Sarah Togatuki moves up into the front row alongside Tayla Predebon with Olivia Higgins making her NRLW debut at hooker. The back row consists of Yasmin Meakes and Māori All Star Olivia Kernick, while seasoned campaigner Hannah Southwell locks up the scrum

The interchange bench features Shawden Burton, Keilee Joseph, Samantha Economos and Simone Karpani, with the side's newest addition in Raecene McGregor named as 18th player

NRLW Rewind: The Best of the Roosters So Far

The extended bench consists of Joeli Morris, Lauretta Leao-Seve, Otesa Pule, Claire Reed, Mya Hill-Moana and Taylor-Adeline Mapusua. 

The Roosters and Broncos meet for the sixth time since the competition's inception in 2018, and will be aiming to claim a win over the reigning Premiers following a narrow 10-20 defeat in the 2020 Grand Final.

Sunday also marks the Tricolours' first-ever match in Newcastle, in what will be an exciting start to the 2021 campaign.

Be sure to grab your tickets here and cheer on the mighty Roosters!

The squads to play this Sunday are as follows: 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Roosters is number 5 Brydie Parker
    Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Tamika Upton
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Leianne Tufuga
    Winger for Broncos is number 2 Julia Robinson
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Jessica Sergis
    Centre for Broncos is number 3 Amy Turner
  • Centre for Roosters is number 4 Isabelle Kelly
    Centre for Broncos is number 4 Shenae Ciesiolka
  • Winger for Roosters is number 24 Taylor Mapusua
    Winger for Broncos is number 5 Emily Bass
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Zahara Temara
    Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Tarryn Aiken
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Jocelyn Kelleher
    Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Ali Brigginshaw


  • Prop for Roosters is number 8 Sarah Togatuki
    Prop for Broncos is number 8 Millie Boyle
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Olivia Higgins
    Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Lauren Brown
  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Tayla Predebon
    Prop for Broncos is number 10 Chelsea Lenarduzzi
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Yasmin Clydsdale
    2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Tallisha Harden
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Olivia Kernick
    2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Amber Hall
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Hannah Southwell
    Lock for Broncos is number 13 Nakita Sao


  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Shawden Burton
    Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Jada Ferguson
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Keilee Joseph
    Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Kaitlyn Phillips
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Simone Karpani
    Interchange for Broncos is number 16 Roxy Murdoch
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 18 Raecene McGregor
    Interchange for Broncos is number 17 Sara Sautia


  • Reserve for Roosters is number 19 Joeli Morris
    Reserve for Broncos is number 18 Hayley Maddick

Match Officials

  • Referee: Belinda Sharpe
  • Senior Review Official: Chris Butler

Last updated:


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.