You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo: Paul Barkley / Melba Studios

Mitchell Pearce has tonight been named winner of the prestigious Jack Gibson Medal at the Sydney Roosters 2014 Awards Night.

This is the third time Pearce has claimed the Club’s most prized award, with the 25 year-old halfback previously receiving the Medal in 2008 and 2010.

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team, with votes tallied across the season. John Gibson, son of the late Jack Gibson, presented Pearce with the Medal.

Sydney Roosters centre Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the James Mathews Award for Clubman of the Year, recognising his extensive contribution both on and off the field throughout the year.

Retiring skipper, Anthony Minichiello, was the recipient of the Roosters Our Community Award for his tireless efforts in the community, including as an ambassador of the Steggles Roosters Charity Nest. Minichiello was also the Club’s nomination for the NRL’s One Community Ken Stephens Medal.

Meanwhile, Roosters hooker Jake Friend was named Members Player of the Year and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck took home the Steggles Try of the Year Award for his memorable four-pointer in the Roosters Round 13 win against the Melbourne Storm.

Other winners on the night were Jackson Hastings who won the Harry Phipps Rising Star Award, Nene Macdonald who won the Arthur Beetson Medal for NYC Player of the Year, Latrell Mitchell who won the Chris Sykes Award for Junior Rep Player of the Year and Brendan Elliot for NYC Players Player.


The award winners on the night were:

Steggles Try of the Year – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

Members Player of the Year – Jake Friend

Roosters Our Community Award – Anthony Minichiello

Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award – Lee Bennett

Harry Phipps Rising Star Award – Jackson Hastings

Chris Sykes Award (Junior Rep Player of the Year) – Latrell Mitchell

NYC Players Player – Brendan Elliot

Arthur Beetson Medal (NYC Player of the Year) – Nene Macdonald

James Mathews Clubman of the Year – Shaun Kenny-Dowall

Jack Gibson Medal Winner – Mitchell Pearce


The night was attended by more than 370 guests and was staged in the Bondi Room of Easts Leagues Club.


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.