You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Boyd Cordner has tonight been named winner of the prestigious Jack Gibson Medal at the Sydney Roosters 2015 Awards Night.

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team and Head Coach, with votes tallied across the season. John Gibson, son of the late Jack Gibson, presented Cordner with the Medal.

A first-time winner of the Club’s most prized award, the 23 year-old Roosters Vice Captain placed ahead of other finalists Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Shaun Kenny-Dowall.

Sydney Roosters utility Mitchell Aubusson won the James Mathews Award for Clubman of the Year, recognising his extensive contribution both on and off the field throughout the year. This is the second time that Aubusson has been named Clubman of the Year, first claiming the award in 2011.

Captain Jake Friend was the recipient of the Roosters Our Community Award for his tireless efforts in the community, including as an ambassador of the Steggles Roosters Charity Nest. Friend was also the Club’s nomination for the NRL’s Ken Stephen Medal.

Meanwhile, Roosters fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was named Members Player of the Year and Jared Waerea-Hargreaves took home the Steggles Try of the Year Award for his memorable four-pointer in the Roosters Round 23 win against the Parramatta Eels.

Other winners on the night were Latrell Mitchell who won the Harry Phipps Rising Star Award, Connor Watson who won the Arthur Beetson Medal for NYC Player of the Year, Joseph Manu who won the Chris Sykes Award for Junior Rep Player of the Year and Vincent Leuluai for NYC Players Player.

The award winners on the night were:

Steggles Try of the Year – Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Members Player of the Year – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

Roosters Our Community Award – Jake Friend

Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award – Huss Chalich

Harry Phipps Rising Star Award – Latrell Mitchell

Chris Sykes Award (Junior Rep Player of the Year) – Joseph Manu

NYC Players Player – Vincent Leuluai

Arthur Beetson Medal (NYC Player of the Year) – Connor Watson

James Mathews Clubman of the Year – Mitchell Aubusson

Jack Gibson Medal Winner – Boyd Cordner

The night was attended by more than 350 guests and was staged in the Bondi Room of Easts Leagues Club.

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Platinum Partners

Premier Partners

View All Partners