You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Australian Kangaroos in the 2016 Downer Test Match.

Four debutants – wingers Semi Radradra and Blake Ferguson and interchange players Josh McGuire and Michael Morgan – will play against the New Zealand Kiwis at Newcastle’s Hunter Stadium on Friday, May 6.

The match will mark Mal Meninga’s first match as Coach of the Kangaroos.

"This is a well-balanced squad and I’m extremely happy with it," Meninga said.

"We have some experience as well as a handful of younger players who I am looking forward to seeing in this arena.

"It is the fourth most experienced line-up in Australia's Test history but there will also be four players making their debuts.

"This is an incredibly important game for this group. I want to ensure the players have pride in the national jumper and my goal is to establish the Kangaroos back at the top of the international rankings.

"We have a Four Nations tournament at the end of this year and then a World Cup in 2017. This is the start of an important journey for the Kangaroos."

The 2016 Kangaroos squad
1. Darius Boyd
2. Semi Radradra 
3. Greg Inglis 
4. Josh Dugan 
5. Blake Ferguson 
6. Johnathan Thurston 
7. Cooper Cronk 
8. Matt Scott 
9. Cameron Smith (c)  
10. Paul Gallen 
11. Josh Papalii 
12. Matt Gillett 
13. Corey Parker 
14. Josh McGuire 
15. Michael Morgan 
16. James Tamou 
17. Sam Thaiday 
18. Aidan Guerra 
19. Michael Jennings

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Platinum Partners

Premier Partners

View All Partners