You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sydney Roosters Captain Jake Friend has tonight been named winner of the prestigious Jack Gibson Medal at the Sydney Roosters 2016 Awards Night.

This is the second time Friend has claimed the Club’s most prized award, with the 26 year-old hooker previously receiving the Medal in 2011.

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team and Coach, with votes tallied across the season. John Gibson, son of the late Jack Gibson, presented Friend with the Medal.

Sydney Roosters utility Mitchell Aubusson won the James Mathews Award for Clubman of the Year, recognising his extensive contribution both on and off the field throughout the year. This is the second successive year that Aubusson has been named Clubman of the Year, and third time overall, with Aubusson first claiming the award in 2011. Aubusson is the first player in the Award’s history to be named Clubman of the Year on three occasions.

Forward Kane Evans was the recipient of the Roosters Our Community Award for his tireless efforts in the community. Evans is also a finalist for the NRL’s Ken Stephen Medal which will be awarded at the Dally M Awards later this month.

Meanwhile, Roosters second-rower Boyd Cordner was named Members Player of the Year and Latrell Mitchell took home the Steggles Try of the Year Award for his memorable four-pointer in the Roosters Round 23 win against the North Queensland Cowboys.

Other winners on the night were Connor Watson who won the Harry Phipps Rising Star Award, Nat Butcher who won the Arthur Beetson Medal for NYC Player of the Year, Lachlan Lam who won the Chris Sykes Award for Junior Rep Player of the Year and Grant Garvey for NYC Players Player.

The award winners on the night were:

Steggles Try of the Year – Latrell Mitchell

Members Player of the Year – Boyd Cordner

Roosters Our Community Award – Kane Evans

Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award – Deanne Michailidis

Harry Phipps Rising Star Award – Connor Watson

Chris Sykes Award (Junior Rep Player of the Year) – Lachlan Lam

NYC Players Player – Grant Garvey

Arthur Beetson Medal (NYC Player of the Year) – Nat Butcher

James Mathews Clubman of the Year – Mitchell Aubusson

Jack Gibson Medal Winner – Jake Friend

The night was attended by more than 350 guests and was staged in the Bondi Room of Easts Leagues Club.

Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.