You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Premiership Spotlight | 2013

After missing out on the finals in both the 2011 and 2012 NRL Telstra Premiership seasons, 2013 was the epitome of the perfect turnaround for the Sydney Roosters.

Not only did they finish the regular season in first place, they booked a spot in the NRL Grand Final for the first time since 2010 against an opponent they claimed an epic win over in the Qualifying Finals, the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles. 

2013 Grand Final Highlights

It was a tightly contested battle in the opening stages, but the Sea Eagles were first to strike through Jorge Taufua. 

The momentum slowly swung in the Roosters direction through smart play and repeat sets, which eventually led to the Roosters first try of the night after a leaping Daniel Tupou plucked a James Maloney bomb from the air and planted it down on the left wing. 

The start of the second half saw the Sea Eagles claim quite a lead by means of a penalty try awarded to Jamie Lyon, followed by a Steve Matai special on the left edge. 

It was up to the Sydney Roosters to battle their way to a victory, and battle they did. 

Aidan Guerra was next over the line after running a perfect line and receiving a money ball from Mitchell Pearce to send him between the uprights untouched. 

The next was a long-range special that started with a textbook Sonny-Bill Williams offload and finished with Shaun Kenny-Dowall scoring in the corner. 

Last but not least, who can forget that magical put-down from Michael Jennings to put the finishing touches on a memorable Premiership win for the Sydney Roosters. 

Watch the highlights above and re-live the epic Premiership victory.


Sydney Roosters | Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Anthony Minichiello (c) | Brett Stewart
Daniel Tupou | Jorge Taufua
Michael Jennings | Jamie Lyon (c)
Shaun Kenny-Dowall | Steve Matai
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck | David Williams
James Maloney | Kieran Foran
Mitchell Pearce | Daly Cherry-Evans
Jared Waerea-Hargraves | Brenton Lawrence
Jake Friend | Matt Ballin
Sam Moa | Brent Kite
Aidan Guerra | Anthony Watmough
Sonny Bill Williams | Justin Horo
Boyd Cordner | Glenn Stewart
Frank-Paul Nuuausala | David Gower
Daniel Mortimer | Jamie Buhrer
Mitchell Aubusson | Tom Symonds
Luke O'Donnell | George Rose
COACHES: Trent Robinson | Geoff Toovey



25' Daniel Tupou
55' Aidan Guerra
60' Shaun Kenny-Dowall
72' Michael Jennings

GOALS: Maloney 5/5

FINAL SCORE: Roosters 28 Sea Eagles 18