You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Hannah Southwell named Sydney Roosters Player of the year

Sydney Roosters NRLW second-rower Hannah Southwell has tonight been named winner of the prestigious KARI Foundation Player of the Year at the Sydney Roosters NRLW end of season Awards Presentation which immediately followed the 2020 NRLW Grand Final.

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the award was voted for at the conclusion of every game by Roosters NRLW Head Coach Jamie Feeney and Assistant Coaches John Strange and Kylie Hilder.

In her second year with the Roosters, 21-year-old Southwell was instrumental in leading the Roosters to the 2020 decider.

Southwell was also crowned the 2020 RLPA NRLW Players' Player at the conclusion of the Grand Final. 

Previous winners of the KARI Foundation Player of the Year are Tallisha Harden (2019) and Zahara Temara (2018).

The Roosters 2020 Players’ Player was also announced, with founding Roosters player Zahara Temara claiming the award.

The award was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRLW team, with votes tallied throughout the competition.

A new NRLW award was introduced in 2020, with Filomina Hanisi being named the inaugural winner of the Sydney Roosters NRLW Rising Star award.

A tough and mobile forward, 19-year-old Hanisi has been a revelation for the Roosters in 2020 and started in all four games this season. 

For more information and a full list of past Sydney Roosters award winners, visit the Honour Roll at