You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Update: NRL Line Up for Round 22 vs Cowboys

Update | Trent Robinson has trimmed down his side 24 hours ahead of kick-off. 

Kevin Naiqama, Ben Thomas and Siua Wong have all dropped out of the side, with players 1-19 remaining. 

The final team will be confirmed one hour prior to kick-off tomorrow at 2pm.

Originally published Tuesday, August 8:

The Sydney Roosters are proud to announce the line up for Saturday afternoon's Members Round match against the North Queensland Cowboys at the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

With the Roosters kicking off at 3pm, there will be plenty for Roosters Members and supporters to look forward to in this Round 22 clash, including: 

  • Two player milestones with Captain James Tedesco playing his 200th NRL match and Drew Hutchison taking the field for the 50th time in Roosters colours
  • A 3pm kick-off perfect for the family in the Club's second to last match at the hallowed Sydney Cricket Ground 
  • The 2022 NRLW Squad being officially unveiled at halftime, including an announcement on the side's Captain 
  •  One lucky winner has the chance to win 2023 Sydney Roosters Membership, a Roosters jersey signed by the entire 2022 squad as well as a year's supply of Red Rooster in the Kick For Your Membership competition

The Tricolours will have the opportunity to continue their winning run to five consecutive matches when they take on the Cowboys, following their win over the Brisbane Broncos last Thursday.

The Sydney Roosters winter merchandise range is now available - so be sure to get your threads here and rug up for the remaining month of the competition before the finals heat up! 

Trent Robinson's side to face North Queensland has had one change made from last week, with Egan Butcher returning to the line up. 

Captain James Tedesco once again lines up at fullback in his milestone match alongside Daniel Tupou, Paul Momirovski, Joseph Manu and Joseph Suaalii in a star-studded backline.

The halves combination of Luke Keary at five-eighth and Sam Walker at halfback has been retained for a fourth consecutive week, while Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Sam Verrills and Matt Lodge have been named up front.

Coming off a double last week, Nat Butcher lines up against fellow try-scorer Angus Crichton in the back row, while Victor Radley returns to take his place in the no.13 following a vintage performance against the Broncos.

The interchange bench features Connor Watson, Egan Butcher and Drew Hutchison as well as Terrell May.

Named on the extended bench are Adam Keighran, Fletcher Baker, Kevin Naiqama, Ben Thomas and Siua Wong. 

With just two matches remaining at the hallowed SCG, be sure to Call Yourself a Rooster with Farewell SCG Membership to access the final remaining home matches and get yourself a 2022 Members scarf, 20% off additional tickets and 10% off Official Merchandise! 

Don't forget to support the Club and Women's Rugby League and sign up for 2022 NRLW Membership as the Roosters begin their quest to retain the Premiership trophy in just over one week!

Grab your tickets here, bring the whole family and cheer on the Roosters in a Saturday afternoon blockbuster at the SCG!

The NRL squad to play this Saturday is as follows: 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Roosters is number 1 James Tedesco
    Fullback for Cowboys is number 1 Scott Drinkwater
  • Winger for Roosters is number 2 Daniel Tupou
    Winger for Cowboys is number 2 Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow
  • Centre for Roosters is number 3 Paul Momirovski
    Centre for Cowboys is number 3 Valentine Holmes
  • Centre for Roosters is number 4 Joseph Manu
    Centre for Cowboys is number 4 Peta Hiku
  • Winger for Roosters is number 5 Joseph-Aukuso Suaalii
    Winger for Cowboys is number 5 Murray Taulagi
  • Five-Eighth for Roosters is number 6 Luke Keary
    Five-Eighth for Cowboys is number 6 Tom Dearden
  • Halfback for Roosters is number 7 Sam Walker
    Halfback for Cowboys is number 7 Chad Townsend


  • Prop for Roosters is number 8 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
    Prop for Cowboys is number 8 Coen Hess
  • Hooker for Roosters is number 9 Sam Verrills
    Hooker for Cowboys is number 9 Reece Robson
  • Prop for Roosters is number 10 Matthew Lodge
    Prop for Cowboys is number 10 Reuben Cotter
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 11 Angus Crichton
    2nd Row for Cowboys is number 11 Tom Gilbert
  • 2nd Row for Roosters is number 12 Nat Butcher
    2nd Row for Cowboys is number 12 Jeremiah Nanai
  • Lock for Roosters is number 13 Victor Radley
    Lock for Cowboys is number 13 Jason Taumalolo


  • Interchange for Roosters is number 14 Connor Watson
    Interchange for Cowboys is number 14 Jordan McLean
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 15 Egan Butcher
    Interchange for Cowboys is number 15 Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 16 Drew Hutchison
    Interchange for Cowboys is number 16 Luciano Leilua
  • Interchange for Roosters is number 17 Terrell May
    Interchange for Cowboys is number 17 Griffin Neame


  • Replacement for Roosters is number 18 Adam Keighran
    Replacement for Cowboys is number 20 Jake Granville

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Phil Henderson
  • Touch Judge: Belinda Sharpe
  • Senior Review Official: Adam Gee

Last updated:


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.