You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rugby League fans will have the chance to choose the game’s “Favourite Son” with online voting opening today for the annual award which kicks off almost a month of celebrations for the 2014 Harvey Norman Women in League Round.

Some of the NRL’s most respected stars have been nominated, with the winner to be announced on Wednesday, May 14, at the Women in League Sydney Lunch, the official start to the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative, to be celebrated during Round 10 of the Telstra Premiership (May 16-19).

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award acknowledges an NRL player whose attitude and character has an outstanding influence on the game. The recipient is a player whose integrity and reputation makes the game more appealing to women, someone who encourages mothers to involve their families in Rugby League.

The nominees are:

Broncos - Corey Parker 

Bulldogs - Sam Perrett

Cowboys - Brent Tate

Dragons - Brett Morris

Eels - Ben Smith

Knights- Jarrod Mullen

Panthers - Kevin Kingston

Rabbitohs - Opted not to nominate a player

Raiders - Brett White

Roosters - Mitchell Pearce

Sea Eagles - Matt Ballin

Sharks - Michael Gordon

Storm - Ryan Hoffman

Titans - Ashley Harrison 

Warriors - Manu Vatuvei

Wests Tigers - Aaron Woods

Online voting for the Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award starts today (Friday, May 2) at and closes at 11.59pm on May 11.

The eighth annual celebration of the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative celebrates, acknowledges and supports the role women play in the Rugby League family, which includes over 60,000 female volunteers, officials, players, employees and administrators at the heart of the game. 

This year, the NRL will host four official Harvey Norman Women in League events beginning in Western Sydney on Monday (May 5), followed by Wollongong (May 7), Hunter Valley (May 9) and Sunshine Coast (May 20).

“Congratulations to all the Harvey Norman Favourite Son nominees whose integrity and leadership make us proud of the men they are off the field as much what they do on the field,” said Mark Deweerd, NRL Interim General Manager, Community, Culture and Diversity. 

“Their efforts and attitude inspire women to be part of the Rugby League family at all levels.”

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award was established in 2009 and past winners include:

2009 - Hazem El Masri (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

2010 - Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta Eels)

2011 - Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)

2012 - Luke Burt (Parramatta Eels)

2013 - Anthony Minichiello (Sydney Roosters)

For more information on upcoming events and Harvey Norman Women in League please visit


Sydney Roosters halfback Mitchell Pearce is playing his eighth season in the top grade in 2014, after making his NRL debut with the Roosters as a 17-year-old. He has developed into a strong leader both on and off the field. He was appointed as a Vice-Captain in 2013 and is a significant member of the club’s leadership group. 

Away from the football field, Pearce is a key contributor within the community, regularly visiting locals schools to deliver the club’s ‘Roosters Against Racism’ program and can also be regularly sighted at local junior leagues clubs and community groups like Nippers.