You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Trial Teams vs Canberra Raiders

A majority of the Sydney Roosters NRL squad will take the field against the Canberra Raiders this Saturday 27 February at Seiffert Oval in the Club's final trial for 2021.

Kicking off at 4pm, the 21-man squad will feature a mixture of experience and youth, with Lachlan Lam and Drew Hutchison lining up in the halves together for the first time as Victor Radley and Sam Verrills continue their ACL rehabilitation.

James Tedesco will headline the backline alongside Brett and Josh Morris, Daniel Tupou and Joseph Manu, who returns from a strong performance for the Māori All Stars last Saturday night. 

Experienced campaigners Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Jake Friend, Sio Siua Taukeiaho and Isaac Liu will start in the forward pack for their first games of the year, supported by breakaway backrowers Angus Crichton and Sitili Tupouniua.

An extended bench will feature a mixture of first-graders, new recruits and young up-and-comers, with Nat and Egan Butcher, Adam Keighran, Daniel Suluka-Fifita, Lindsay Collins, Matt Ikuvalu, Sam Walker and Freddy Lussick looking to impress the Roosters coaching staff ahead of the Club's Round 1 blockbuster against the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles at the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

Venue Seiffert Oval, Queanbeyan  
Gates Open 1:30pm  
North Sydney Bears vs Canberra Raiders Kick-Off 2:00pm Streamed on
Sydney Roosters vs Canberra Raiders Kick-Off 4:00pm Streamed on

Before the NRL match, the North Sydney Bears (Roosters NSW Cup feeder club) will play a trial against the Raiders at 2pm, with the squad featuring a number of NRL squad members such as Sam Walker, Freddy Lussick, Fletcher Baker, Egan Butcher and Joseph Suaalii.

The match also marks the first time the Roosters and Raiders will play at Seiffert Oval since 1989. 

Roosters Club Members have received an email to purchase tickets for the match, however, please note that tickets will be limited to 2000, so make sure you get in quick or activate your Membership and become a True Rooster!

Both matches will be streamed on


The Sydney Roosters team to take on the Canberra Raiders is as follows: 

1 James Tedesco
2 Daniel Tupou
3 Josh Morris
4 Joseph Manu
5 Brett Morris
6 Lachlan Lam
7 Drew Hutchison
8 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
9 Jake Friend
10 Sio Siua Taukeiaho
11 Angus Crichton
12 Sitili Tupouniua
13 Isaac Liu
14 Nat Butcher
15 Adam Keighran
16 Daniel Suluka-Fifita
17 Lindsay Collins
18 Matt Ikuvalu
19 Egan Butcher
20 Sam Walker
21 Freddy Lussick

The North Sydney Bears to take on the Canberra Raiders is as follows:

1 Brad Abbey
2 Moala Graham-Taufa
3 Joseph Suaalii
4 Tony Satini
5 Lani Graham-Taufa
6 Ronald Volkman
7 Sam Wakler
8 Tuku Hau-Taphuha
9 Freddy Lussick
10 Fletcher Baker
11 Egan Butcher
12 Naufahu Whyte
13 Max Bailey
14 Coby Thomas
15 Elih Jackson
16 Jerry Key
17 Michael Fenn
18 Ben Thomas
19 Ben Marschke
20 Josh Ralph
21 Josh Bergamin
22 Sione Hopoate
23 Tom Carr


Acknowledgement of Country

Sydney Roosters respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.